7DRL – Day 4

I’m behind on my documentation right now, because I’ve been doing a lot of physical testing.  I only have an hour or two each day, and my own testing plus designing tests for my testers take pretty much all of that.  It’s okay, though, because we’re making huge progress now.  I almost have a game!  I’ll start catching up on documentation tomorrow.

Seven-day Roguelike Entry – Mar 2013 – Day 4

I didn’t get a lot of response from yesterday’s test, but the two who did respond both said they were able to get through the basic rules of play.  This is huge, because I was worried that it might only make sense in my head.  This is why I test the ideas.

Today’s test just went out, and it’s a whopper.  I stepped through a demonstration of the game rules for player movement, player inventory, item uses, and the structure of a turn.  I didn’t introduce how to lose, yet, but that will probably be tomorrow’s job.  Here is today’s test:

Tester criteria:

  • Must have access to a PDF reader.

Materials required:

  • 52-card deck of playing cards (no jokers or other “extra” cards)
  • A six-sided die (standard die)
  • An object with a flat bottom and top that can be stood on top of a card (I chose a shot glass)

Time required: no more than 20 minutes

(instructions are in the attached PDF)  Task 5 Instructions

Results: (place your written piece below)

Count the cards in your draw deck, the face up piles at the left, and all of the face down piles of the bridge, and put them into the following table. The places correspond to the game setup.

[This answer space is removed from the blog, since the answer format doesn’t work for the polling function.]

[form removed]

Leave a Reply

